Product Review-> Belkin Vue Grip for iPhone 4

So you survived the pre-order fiasco, waited overnight, or both to get yourself a shiny iPhone 4 in the color of your choice (so long as that choice is black), eh? Now you need to protect your motivation and investment. If you’re looking for a mid range priced case, the Belkin Vue Grip is a worthy condom for your unit. (Pics at the end)

APPEARANCE

The Belkin Vue Grip case is a rubber based, wrap around protector that fits snugly around your iPhone 4. At first glance the color of the case looks like the color of hallways in cheap hotels, but once applied your phone, it gives off a see-through silver’ish tint. I was skeptical upon opening, however it won me over in short amount of time.

The button guards are one of my favorite aspects of this particular case. Both the power and volume defenders are tightly fit, so as not to mistakenly adjust your level without intention. Anyone who has dealt with this issue knows exactly what I’m talking about.

The pin connector, or point of charger, is open enough to freely plug your USB or car charger into without consequence. I don’t have a dock to test it on, but just judging by the thinness I can safely guess you won’t have an issue. The silent/vibrate switch was easy to maneuver even for me and my chubby fingers.

It is worth noting for those who are eager to flash their new several hundred-dollar piece of eye candy off, that the case’s silver tint is plenty see through, to see both the Apple logo, as well as the branded “iPhone” on its back. In fact, the case seems to only show its silver side on the silver steel antenna. Go figure.

PROTECTION:

This is the section of the Belkin Vue Grip that rises its value. Being the most important function of a case, I’d call the job it does protecting your iPhone 4, superb. Having used this case for a month’s time, I *gasp* have dropped my precious token of nerd’ism twice. Once was at the mall chasing after my toddler, having the phone slip onto a tile type texture, face down! The drop was from about 3 feet, and the slight ridge above the screen bounced the phone onto its back, leaving not a single mark on my device.

The second drop was much more of a scare. I had just left a meeting and was rushing to my car in the pouring rain, when I went to switch the phone off of vibrate (my oh so courteous self remembered to go silent in the mtg), when it slipped out of hand, onto the street. This time it landed on a corner, again bouncing itself onto the backside of the phone, leaving it harmlessly lying on the blacktop.  I will say I some luck was on my side, but nevertheless, the phone is still in mint condition thanks to this case.

The Case fits closely enough to the phone, that most dust and dirt will escape being trapped between it and the device. I won’t say all is avoided, but then again I do carry my iPhone in my pocket the majority of the time.

How about signal you ask? This pesky detail of sorts must be included with any case review for an iPhone 4 Im afraid. You’ll be pleased to know that while I admit this “issue” is more reception area based, I see no performance issues with any type of “hold” I put on my i4. Now I didn’t stick it down my Hanes to check, but I can predict that this case either fixes, or doesn’t effect (whichever way you view the problem) the phone’s calling.

PROBLEMS

There is only one “real” issue I found while using the Belkin Vue Grip. It lies solely in the space for the headphone jack. When plugging my iPhone 4 into the deck of the Mazda 3 I drive, I noticed the space to be a bit small. This doesn’t affect your standard headphone plug-in, however for those who use their iPhone 4 with the vehicles audio deck, they should be mindful of which sort of cord they are using with this case. I should state that I am able to turn the cord and have it work fine, but this shouldn’t be necessary.

One minor bit of information that may be worth mentioning is that if your hands are of the sweaty type, or your outdoors frequently, this case has the potential to be a bit slick.

OVERALL

When it comes down to the yes or no question of if I recommend the Belkin Vue Grip, I say 95 of every 100 people can benefit themselves by using this case. For $25 it is a well specked, and most importantly durable protector for your iPhone 4. Again, the case is a bit slippery so remember, wash your hands kids!

This entry was posted in TECHnicalities and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

